Showing posts with label products review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label products review. Show all posts

Friday, September 13, 2019

Meal replacement for healthy weight maintanence

The obesity crisis has hit the Asian region pretty hard. Malaysia has also quickly become the fattest country in South East Asia. I blame this on the delicious and indulging food choices in which many Malaysians simply cannot resist. The haze and hot weather also discourages outdoor activities and exercise. We know that lifestyle diseases like diabetes and high blood pressure is on the rise as a result. And a healthy diet is imperative in battling this.

A healthy diet does not have to be bland or boring. It's well tested that taking properly balanced meals is the key. It should be abundant in fruits and vegetables which fill half the plate,  a quarter with protein or lean meat and the last quarter with complex carbohydrates. However,  hectic lifestyle often precludes the possibility to prepare such a meal all the time. That's where the role of meal replacement comes in. It allows people to stick to a nutritious meal plan on the go.


Meal replacement was originally designed for athletes for a nutritional boost. It has now expanded its use for people who needs a quick fix high in nutritions. Meal replacement bars and drinks can be kept in bags and taken while traveling. However there are so many options available in the market. Many of which maybe sugar loaded with high calories-not that much different from junk food!

These are rough guides of what should be in a good meal replacement product (Adapted from WebMD):

-220-230 calories per serving
-Less than 5 grams of fat per serving
-3-5 grams of fiber per serving
-10-15 grams of protein per serving
-Fortified with a third of daily vitamins and minerals

I have started to consume YogurtSlim by Everfood Malaysia This special yogurt
drink is made for:

1) Filling up stomach and controlling hunger
2) Weight loss and boosts metabolism
3) Improves digestive system

Each sachet contains protein equivalent to 1/2 an egg, 10ml coconut oil, 5 billion lactobacillus live culture and fibres of 3 Apples. Using the rough guide provided by WebMD,  it fulfills most of the requirements but would be better if there is more protein. The total carbohydrate content is about 1 carbohydrate exchange (in a single main meal- we aim for 3 exchanges  and snack- 1 exchange).

Other active ingredients include

Natural fruit extracts- Avocado, Mixed berries and Mango. These contain the natural goodness of the fruits which are packed with vitamins and minerals.

Medium chain triglyceride oil-is a type of fat used for people who have problems with fat absorption, to increase lean muscle mass and strength,  as well as to help with weight loss.

Konjac powder, aka glucomannan- is rich in fiber. Therefore, it helps to improve satiety,  relieves constipation, promotes weight loss and improves sugar control.

Probiotics- relieves indigestion, constipation, colic, reflux, antibiotic associated diarrhoea and functional abdominal pain.

Chlorophyll may help with constipation.

Yoghurt Slim is also free of preservatives, transfat, cholesterol and colouring.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


Yoghurt Slim is a great energy and nutritional boost. It tastes great and creamy- just like a sinful milk shake without the sky high calories and sugar. The natural fruit flavour makes the drink palatable and the sweetness comes naturally from the fruit only. Besides having it straight,  I have also tried adding quick cook oats and refrigerating it overnight. Adding some fresh fruits or Chia seeds, it becomes an awesome overnight oat breakfast. When I'm traveling,  it's a quick and healthy fix on the go.

Get your own Yoghurt Slim using my promocode :

Everfood
Official website
FB/IG @everfoodmy

#ieateverfood #yogurtslim #yogurtdrink
#instantyogurt #healthy #mealreplacement

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Healthy gut for the whole family | Biogaia Probiotics Review

My hectic schedule at work requires me to be always on the go,  including traveling interstates frequently to attend conferences and meetings. I usually bring baby Bing and Yi with me. They love staying at hotels but this also means that we have frequent change in mealtimes and dietary choices.

This causes problems like indigestion and constipation. I often feel bloated, gassy, sometimes with heartburn and hard stools. Besides trying to consume more fruits and vegetables,  as well as water to help, I also find probiotics supplement useful.


Biogaia is a Swedish Healthcare company. It has a good track record in producing probiotic supplements for the past 30 years.  It's products are available in 100 countries.

Lactobacillus Reuteri Protectis is one of the good strains of bacteria, living in the digestive tract that helps to keep the bad germs at bay and to assist in the normal digestive process.  L.reuteri binds to the epithelial lining (inner skin) of the digestive tract which sheds every 4 days which means the bacteria also get washed away every week or so.  In order to keep a healthy level of L.reuteri in the gut, daily dose of probiotics is required. In Biogaia probiotic products, the bacteria is isolated from breastmilk. Biogaia Probiotic Supplements should be kept under 25 degrees celcius to make sure it lasts its shelf life.


Different strains of Biogaia L.Reuteri has been studied extensively in 203 clinical studies in 17,200 people of all ages of which 105 were done in children and 98 in adults. It has shown the effectiveness of probiotics in helping with gut problems like indigestion, constipation, colic, reflux, antibiotic associated diarrhoea and functional abdominal pain.  Many of these conditions can be difficult to treat and cause distress and impairment to function normally.

The most important is that L. reuteri supplements are safe as no serious side effects have been observed up to the maximum tested dosage of 10 billion CFU per day which is 1000 times the recommended daily dose. They also do not contain toxins or transferrable antibiotic resistance genes. Manufactured under controlled conditions, this ensures contamination does not occur. Biogaia Probiotics is also free from common allergens such as egg, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, shellfish and soy.

Biogaia Protectis Drops


These drops are suitable for use in newborn and young children. When taken at 5 drops a day, this consists of a minimum of 100 million live Lactobacillus reuteri Protectis. Remember to shake the drops for 10 seconds  to mix the bacteria with the oil before use.  This probiotics is useful to treat conditions such as colic. It can be extremely stressful to have a colicky baby in which I wrote about here.

Biogaia Protectis Tabs


These are lemon flavoured probiotic tablets at the same dose for adults. It's safe for expectant and breastfeeding mothers.  It also contains xylitol which is a sweetener used to make the tablets palatable. These tabs can be consumed for those aged 3 and above.

These are the potential benefits for consuming Biogaia Probiotics
-Infection protection
-Relieves Constipation, Functional abdominal pain , Diarrhea, Indigestion
-Boost immunity

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


I love the taste of these Biogaia probiotic tablets. Most importantly, now I feel much less bloated and am able to open my bowels almost everyday.  I feel confident in consuming it because it's safe for breastfeeding mothers like me. As for baby Yi, he is recovering from a viral gastroenterities in which these probiotic drops came just in time to relieve him of the uncomfortable stomach cramps and diarhhoea.

Please head on to Biogaia website to find out more about their products. If you buy online,  don't worry,  they only employ the nicest express delivery using ice box to maintain the  cold chain.


Official website
Facebook
Instagram

Disclaimer: the opinion given is merely a personal experience and does not constitute formal medical advice. Please seek your medical professional's advice before any complementary therapy. Always ask for certified professionals before proceeding with treatment and stop if discomfort or side effect ensues.




Friday, August 23, 2019

Choosing a good body wash | Antioxidant Burst Leafy Agarwood Cleansing Bar Review


I spend a lot of time looking for good skincare products on my face.  To be honest,  I rarely pay much attention to choosing  a good body wash.  Many people have recently changed from using shower gel to bar soaps in order to cut down the amount of plastic used according to this article in the Guardian.


However,  shower gel vs cleansing bar really doesn't matter that much as long as we choose a product that has good quality. Myth has it but bar soaps don't really harbour more bacteria comparing to shower gel.


Leafy Agarwood Cleansing Bar is my new companion in the shower.  A common belief is that soap dehydrates the skin but not with Leafy Agarwood Cleansing Bar because it consists many moisturising ingredients listed below.

The active ingredients include


Agarwood leaf and fragrance - this is more commonly used as decorative items because it's deemed to give good fengshui and lucky charm. It contains terpenoids with sedative and anxiolytic effect which help people to relax. The presence of alkaloids and hexadecanoic acid make agarwood antibacterial, antifungal and antiparasite. In animal studies,  agarwood has been shown to build new connections between new brain cells.

Coconut oil- this is rich in fatty acids and a great moisturiser. It maintains the skin elasticity, contains many antioxidants and protects the skin against damaging UV rays.

Olive oil is abundant in squalene, a substance similar to human sebum. It also contains many antioxidants that's anti-aging properties.

Rice Bran oil contains lots of vitamin E, vitamin B, omega-9 and a rich array of fatty acids. These help to hydrate the skin,  fade pigmentation and reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.

Sunflower Seed oil also works similarly to rice bran oil.

These are all naturally derived and are suitable for those with sensitive skin and eczema. Not all soap bars are banned in those with ezcema. You just have to look for the good one.

As with all other good skincare product, the Agarwood Cleansing Bar does not contain harsh chemicals like paraben, SLS, alcohol and mineral oils. These ingredients may irritate and dehydrate sensitive skin.


Watch my YouTube video about how great my skin feel after using the cleansing bar.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


For such a good quality product,  it's very reasonably priced and suitable for the use for both and face and body, as well as those with sensitive skin.  Since the cleansing bar is registered under NPRA, it's quality assured and is only made under the strictest conditions. I particularly love how silky my skin felt after cleansing using Leafy.

Leafy Antioxidant Burst Agarwood Cleansing Bar Official Website

The site contains many of the research evidence and benefits of agar wood.

Leafy Antioxidant Burst Agarwood Cleansing Bar is now available in 80 over major pharmacies in Malaysia now!


Thursday, August 22, 2019

GLGC (Good Life Good Choice) Tiger's Milk Mushroom with Mixed Berries review

Tiger's Milk Mushroom is medicinal plant used by the aborigines in South East Asia for more than four centuries.


It's only found in the rain forest at Malaysia,  Indonesia, Thailand, Philippines and Papua New Guineas. Legend has it that the mushroom grows from where the tigress's milk dripped while feeding her cubs. It's extremely scarce and difficult to find in the wild though.

Tiger's Milk Mushroom is rich in nutrients such as polysaccharide, polysaccharide peptides, proteoglycans and tritepenoids. B-D-glucan is a type of polysaccharide found abundant in Tiger's Milk Mushroom that is touted to strengthen immunity against pathogens. It also has anticancer properties.  The mixed berries, on the other hand,  contains various vitamins, minerals and antioxidants essential for health and strong immunity.


The GLGC Tiger's Milk Mushroom and Mixed Berries supplement is manufactured under LiGNO TM02® which is a proprietary indoor cultivation center for Tiger's Milk Mushroom in controlled indoor environment, especially the sclerotica part (underground tuber that hasn't sprouted) that has the highest medicinal value. The mycelium is not used.  The differences between the sclerotica and mycelium are listed in the following table.

Dr Tan Chon Seng, a researcher with MARDI (Malaysia Agricultural Research & Development Institute) spent 8 years with his team to successfully cultivate Tiger's Milk Mushroom under controlled and hygienic environments to avoid adulteration and cross contamination. The sclerotica is freeze dried then ground into powder.

Dr Tee Heng Giap, a renowned Cardiologist currently practising in Mahkota Medical Center endorsed the use of GLGC Tiger's Milk Mushroom with Mixed Berries in his patients. Even our current Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir also had Tiger's Milk Mushroom to treat his chronic cough. 

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


This GLGC supplement brings about great health benefits and is suitable for breastfeeding mothers like me to consume. I like how the beverage is not sweet and can be easily added to any other drinks or soup or porridge because the taste blends in easily.

GLGC (Good Life Good Choice) Tiger's Milk Mushroom with Mixed Berries Official Website

Get your own GLGC Tiger's Milk Mushroom On Shopee now!

Disclaimer: the opinion given is merely a personal experience and does not constitute formal medical advice. Please seek your medical professional's advice before any complementary therapy. Always ask for certified professionals before proceeding with treatment and stop if discomfort or side effect ensues.


Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Organic skincare for Asian skin and babies | ERH skincare @ Eva Organics

As I have written before this in this article, Asians have different skincare needs than our Caucasian counterparts. One of it is how Asian skin tans and burns more easily, and is more sensitive and drier. This is why I am using organic skincare products, this time round produced in Taiwan. I am going to introduce a few products by ERH skincare and Sassibaby in this article.


ERH Supra Sun Protection Cream SPF 50+

This is a broad spectrum sunscreen against both UVA and UVB. The way to interpret whether a sunscreen is good enough was described in my previous writing here. Just trust me this time round, the ERH Supra Sun Protection Cream definitely fits the bill!

The active ingredients are:
- MBBT which are micro-sized particles that effectively segrergate harmful UV rays from the skin. It is lightweight and is able to penetrate into deeper skin layers for better protection without clogging the pores. This means the cream is also splash and sweat proof!

- Jojoba oil and hyaluronic acid nourishes and hydrates the skin, as well as prevents skin ageing.

- Liquorice root extract offers a great boost to fairer complexion and soothes irritated skin.

- Rice germ oil and German chamomile extract keeps the skin supple and calms sunburnt skin.


How to use?
- Apply after cleansing, toning and moisturising.
- Tap instead of smear the cream onto the face. It doubles as makeup foundation.
- Suitable for all skin types

It is also quality assured and registered under National Pharmaceutical Regulatory Agency with the NPRA number NOT140303465K. Other ERH series include the popular Ultimate Blackhead Killer Set,

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

This sunscreen is not greasy and gets absorbed fast without leaving stains on the skin. I love how it also includes other skinfood which hydrates and soothes the skin. The fact that it lasts for 12 hours, I do not even have to bring my sunscreen when I am away at work or out for play. It also has a water in oil patented formula which means that it is suitable for multiple applications, which also works as a concealer for uneven skin tone and the appearance of open pores.



Both my children unfortunately have inherited our atopic trait which means that their skin is prone to eczema and dryness. The Sassi Baby Bath and Body Wash is designed for newborn onwards who have sensitive skin just like ours be it ezcema, diaper rash, milk rash or mosquito bites. Adults can also use it. Read more about eczema here.


A few powerful ingredients found in the body wash includes

-Lactobacillus is a skin friendly bacteria that helps to maintain the optimal skin pH balance to allow the skin to function in the best condition.

- Lavender Oil gives the body wash its distinct fragrant smell which is a great aromatherapy.

- Liquorice root extract soothes inflamed skin and brightens the skin colour. 

The four main functions of the series are to cleanse gently yet effectively, prevent itch, alleviate rash and to heal as well as enhance the skin's function as a protective barrier. 

It goes without saying that Sassi Baby products do not contain harsh chemicals such as paraben, alcohol, SLS, chlorine and mineral oil. It is also 100% organic and cruelty free with EcoCert accreditation. 

The Sassi Baby series also comes with tear free shampoo and moisturising lotion.


What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I love how easy it is to pump the body wash single-handedly. Remember moments when your baby is cranky and just wants to be held onto during a bath? This small trick comes in handy. As the packaging is so cute, baby Bing and Yi enjoy to play with the bottle which doubles as a bath toy. The natural and organic ingredients used make me worried free when using it for my young children.


If you want to try the products above, It's definitely a good time now. Quote MY60EVA to get RM60 off in this Merdeka month for purchase worth RM300 and above! 

To read more about their products head on to:-

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Benefits of consuming honey | Honey Hub Life Elixir review

Honey offers a wide range of health benefits. I have summarised this article from The Star about regular honey consumption. Besides carbohydrate and protein, honey also contains various minerals,  vitamins and phytonutrients that are essential to maintain health.

Honey has shown promising results in treating mouth ulcers,  lowering cholesterol, killing bacteria especially in wounds and killing cancer cells. It's also a healthier alternative to sugar as the glycemic index is much lower. As the taste of sweetness is also greater,  less is needed to enhance the flavour.


Honey Hub only produces the most premium quality of tualang honey. Tualang honey is abundant in the north-western region of peninsular Malaysia, a jungle honey produced by rock bees with hives on the Tualang trees. It is the Manuka honey of the East.

Do you know that many grades of honey available in the market? This includes commercial honey (farm honey ), reprocessed honey and raw wild honey. Of which raw honey is the best.

Raw honey is then divided into 5 grades
o above 25% moisture grade D
o 22% moisture grade C
o above 20.5% moisture grade B
o below 20% moisture grade A
o below 18% moisture premium honey

100% premium raw Tualang honey is the main ingredient in Honey Hub Life Elixir. Besides that,  it also contains


o American ginseng
o Astragalus
o Black curmin
o 100% Royal Jelly

These ingredients are rich in antioxidants, vitamins,  minerals and phytonutrients which are essential in fighting the ageing process and maintaining youthful skin. Some smaller studies also suggest possible benefits in retarding dementia.

Those who are interested can read more about Honey Hub's honey research here.

How to consume Honey Hub Life Elixir?


1) Take 1 tablespoon in the morning before breakfast
2) Take 1 tablespoon at night before sleep
2) Avoid using metal spoon
3) Don’t mix with water
4) It's also advised to avoid cold drinks and food

There's an interesting myth that the acidity of honey would corrode a metal spoon used to eat it. In actual fact,  the corrosive effect is fairly negligible. However, plastic, ceramic or wooden spoons can be used instead.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

Honey Hub, when consumed in moderation,  may help to boost energy level and improve suppleness of the skin.  As with any other supplements, please consult your healthcare professionals before trying. Avoid if you have kidney, liver or heart failure. Life Elixir has quite a strong flavour though.  It may take a few tries to get one familiar with the taste. But you know what? the best medicine is often less palatable.

Honey Hub Life Elixir
Testimonials

Disclaimer: the opinion given is merely a personal experience and does not constitute formal medical advice. Please seek your medical professional's advice before any complementary therapy. Always ask for certified professionals before proceeding with treatment and stop if discomfort or side effect ensues.

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Artistic DIY home painting | Nippon Paint Momento Special Effect Paint Review


I have always wanted to repaint this wall in the master bedroom. The paint 4years back has started to crack and peel.


The workmanship of that particular wall sadly was also rough and uneven.  So i thought this pot of Nippon Paint Momento Special Effect Paint  from the Home tester club came just in time.


Each set came with 1L of primer and 1L of special effect paint. I chose ultraviolet not just because purple is my favorite color but also because it matches the rest of the bedroom. This special effect paint is made for interior walls. It also came with a set of brush,  spatula and ruler.


Furthermore,  this Nippon Paint series has low VOC, low odour and does not contain heavy metals such as mercury,  lead and chrome. I could hardly smell the paint a few hours afterwards.

How to apply?


This is a short YouTube video about how to paint using the Momento Special Effect Paint.

Paint primer using roller.
Paint two layers of the special effect paint in a crisscross manner.
Wait for 15mins.
Use the spatula to create more texture when the paint is still semidry.
Leave air dry for at least an hour.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


On the left is the old paint. The right panel is Nippon Momento.

I used to hate the rough workmanship on this wall in my bedroom.  And the old paint has started to bubble and peel off now. But now it's become so artistic after I painted it using Nippon Moment Special Effect Paint. It gave such a textured appearance to the wall and concealed the uneven and rough surface so well.

It's also very easy to apply. For a person who rarely does any paintwork nor artwork, it's incredibly easy to paint. The color is shimmering and paint at just the right consistency because it did not drip to the floor at all even though i didn't cover it with any protective surface.


Want to try it yourself? 

Nippon Momento Special Effect Paint website


Sunday, July 28, 2019

Water free facial cleansing | Phasilab Instant Demake Series


I love putting on makeup. It instantly fix all the flaws including the pigmented areas, area of breakouts, eye bags and dark circles. Using simple things like eyeliner and lipstick can make the face look vibrant.  But I hate taking makeup off. It requires multiple steps and lots of time which I simply don't have. Therefore,  I'm so excited to discover Phasilab Instant Demake Series by Cosderm.


Cosderm is a skincare company proudly owned by Malaysians which bring big brands to us. This includes Phasilab, Revision Skincare, PK24 Advanced and Hydropeptide. It emphasizes on medical skincare endorsed by physicians. The products are 100% genuine and imported,  as well as approved by US FDA.

This series of Phasilab products uses the micellar water technology. They function as cleanser, makeup remover and toner. By immersing a cotton pad with a few drops of Phasilab Demake, the surfactant is attached to the cotton on one side with another end free to bind impurities and makeup. In other words,  the micelles are like microscopic magnets that effectively cleanse and leave nothing behind. Simply wipe the face in circular motions and repeat until the cotton pad becomes clean. There's no rinsing required.


The Phasilab Demake Series can be used on the face,  lips, eyes and decollete. It's equally important to remove makeup from all these areas.

It's made of potent ingredients but free of harmful paraben, alcohol and artificial fragrance. Tested by dermatologist,  Phasilab Demake keeps the skin clean, fresh and hydrated.

Phasilab Instant Demake S


This micellar water is suitable for use around delicate area such as the eyes as well as for sensitive skin. It cleanses in depth and unclog  blocked pores to prevent acne formation as it contains liquorice extract. It also hydrates and help to maintain skin pH balance.

Full ingredient list

WATER (Aqua), PEG-6 CAPRYLIC / CAPRIC GLYCERIDES, DIPOTASSIUM GLYCYRRHIZATE, ALLANTOIN, GLYCERIN, CHAMOMILLA RECUTITA  EXTRACT, DISODIUM EDTA, CETRIMONIUM BROMIDE

Phasilab Instant Demake HA


This variety, on the other hand,  contains hyaluronic acid aka collagen which is the top recipe for supple and radiant skin.  It's great for dry to normal skin types. It also contains Camomilla recutita extract which soothes dry and sensitive skin. The micellar water also helps to maintain the water and sebum balance of the skin.

Full ingredient list

Water (Aqua),PEG-6 Caprylic /Capric Glycerides,Glycerin, Allantoin,Disodium EDTA,Chamomilla Recutita Flower extract,Sodium Hyaluronate,Urea,Sodium PCA,Trehalose, Triacetin, Polyquaternium-51, Cetrimonium Bromide.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I find Phasilab Demake really convenient. After a late night out, the last thing I want to do is to spend half an hour to remove all traces of makeup. Because I just want to hit the sack.  But makeup residues can cause clogged pores and dull skin color. Therefore it is extremely important to cleanse properly. By using Phasilab Demake twice a day, it shortens my skincare time at least by half.

Now,  the exciting part!  I'll have 2 lucky winners who will each get
• PHASILAB Instant Demake S (30ml)  x1
• PHASILAB Instant Demake HA (30ml)  x1

How to win?
1. LIKE & FOLLOW my FB or IG page @yingzangel
2. LIKE & FOLLOW Cosderm FB & IG page@cosderm.com.my
3. LIKE any post of PHASILAB in Cosderm FB / IG
4. LIKE and SHARE this post and set to PUBLIC.

Result will be announced on 13 August 2019. Good luck!

Want to know more about the product?

Cosderm website
Phasilab website


Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Tips for frizz free hair | Norish Kareem Hair Mist Review

I used to leave the house with people asking whether have I combed my hair beforehand. I admit I don't have a lot of times for hair care given that I have to wrestle with 2 young boys at home. If I get the chance, I would rather get some shut eye than waking up early for a hair spa. Neither do I have the time and opportunity to visit the saloon for a pampering session.


Having a good hair day is every girl's dream. These are a few useful tips from Cosmopolitan.com to tame the mane.

1. Use gentle shampoos which is sulfate free (dehydrates hair)
2. Choose shampoo with glycerin as one of the top ingredients
3. Apply conditioner from mid shaft down the ends and avoid roots
4. Don't shampoo everyday. Opt for conditioner only on shampoo free day.
5. Weekly hair mask to fill gaps in hair shafts.
6. Use microfiber instead of cotton hair towel
7. Use moisture-locking dry oil
8. Flat iron or blow dry hair with mixed bristle round brush
9. Touch up the hairline with a toothbrush with hair spray
10. A hair treatment at the saloon

Norish Kareem has formulated bottles of Billionaire Fresh Hair Mist that literally promise one to smell like a billionaire. It's the brainchild of Dr Shaharom Sulaiman, a famous Malaysian Aesthetic and Hair Expert, as well as a doctor. The hair mist comes in 6 scents, namely monsieur, mademoiselle, jeune, victorienne, cherie and vanite.


The active ingredients are
- Peppermint
- Argan oil
- German chamomile essential oil

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I tried the madamoiselle version which has the scent of fresh roses. It made me feel so elegant and stylish just like the French. With a few simple sprays, my locks were smooth, frizz free, tangle free and remained in shape even after a few hours outdoor. I love how the hair mist also provides broad spectrum UVA and UVB protection to avoid sun damage to my hair.

Get onto Norish Kareem website to view their tasteful range of hair mist now.
Norish Kareem website

Thursday, July 18, 2019

The importance of resistance exercise | BH spinning dumb bells review

I have recently written about how to design an individualized exercise prescription using the FITT principle.  One of the component of a good exercise regime is to include resistance training.

Resistance exercise is also called weight or strength training. It helps to build up the strength,  endurance and the size of the muscles. This is because a resistance force that is repetitive and consistent will make the muscles work to overcome it. Besides muscles,  resistance training is also beneficial for joint function, bone density, muscle, tendon and ligament strength.


The key points for a good resistance exercise is to repeat the same sets with rest in between with progressive overload (intensify frequency,  lengthen duration,  increase reps/sets, increase weight). The type of exercise should be changed periodically because each exercise only trains specific muscles. A good recovery time of 48hours should be given afterwards to allow muscle repair and adaptation.

One of the ways to get good resistance training is using spinning dumbbells.  BH Fitness is the leading specialist in designing this piece of fitness equipment.

Spinning dumbbells are relatively small and lightweight to allow resistance exercise, even on the go. The dumbbells spin during exercise either clockwise or anticlockwise using what's called centripetal force.  This quadruple the efficiency of resistance training using conventional dumbbells.


Individual muscle groups can be trained separately using BH spinning dumbbells. The dumbbells can be swung overhead for warm up. Then,  use the rules of 3- 3minutes each rep and 3sets each rep . For arms training,  the brachioradialis, deltoid, triceps and biceps are included.

The hips can be trained by sliding the dumbbells forward and stretching the hip muscles. Besides that,  the spinning dumbbells can also strengthen core muscles and back muscles. For a complete set of resistance workup, one can refer to the BH fitness product guide link I  provide at the end of the article.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

The BH spinning dumbbells are light and easy to carry, even my three year old toddler can pick it up easily. There's a anti slip and anti sweat grip that's comfortable and does not cause sore hands or even abrasion with repetitive training. They are also durable. Bing boy had thrown it onto the floor before without injuring himself,  damaging the flooring nor breaking the dumbbells. A single set can allow training for the whole body at home without the need to head to the gym.

Those serious in getting back in shape can head on to BH Fitness website to get your very own spinning dumbbells at RM129 now. That's so much cheaper than a gym membership.



Is fabric conditioner necessary? | COMFORT Luxury Nature Fabric Conditioner Review

Doing laundry has its own art as well. Laundry detergent is meant to cleanse dirt (dust, hair, skin, food particles and germs) away. But laundry conditioner, just like hair conditioner, is important in protecting our clothes. It lubricates, strengthens the fabrics and reduces friction between the clothes. This prevents piling, fuzz, colour fading and helps to maintain the clothes in their original shapes. Certain fabric conditioners help to soften the clothes as well. Therefore a good laundry conditioner is as important as a good laundry detergent.


I have recently received COMFORT Luxury Nature Fabric Softener from the Home Tester Club. It used to come in 4 scents: Glamour Orange, Fresh Green, Elegance Purple and Romance Pink. But the latest innovation is what is called air activated perfume. As air interacts with the fabric, a luxurious lilly fragrance is released which is lasting.

How to use the fabric softener?

For hand wash:
Use after rinsing the detergent out of the clothes.
Only half a cap is needed for 10L of water
Soak clothes for 10-15minutes.
Dry clothes.

For machine wash:
Use 1 cap -- only add after the washing cycle is completed to avoid washing away the softener completely.
If there is no dispenser, add the fabric softener into water pockets and not directly onto the clothes to prevent chance of staining.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


Using fabric conditioner is just as important as how I would use hair conditioner. It makes the clothes more durable, smells better (especially doing laundry in the rainy season) and softer to wear. COMFORT Luxury Nature Fabric Conditioner is an affordable and effective solution to soften and condition our laundry.





Monday, July 15, 2019

Is probiotic skincare worth the hype? | Suzuki Herb Probiotics Lotion by Japan Premium

Here comes another popular Japanese skincare product from Japan Premium! Our skin will not be healthy without adequate moisture. Besides hydrating ourselves with fluids, we also need to protect our skin by applying moisturizer. Besides dry and flaky skin, dehydrated skin may also manifest as sensitive skin prone to itchy rash/eczema, when makeup does not adhere well and appear in blotches. It may also cause premature skin aging and make fine lines appear much earlier.


Many of us may have come across using water after being rinsed with rice as a remedy for dry skin. The Suzuki Herb Probiotics Lotion is formulated from the same principle. This is because this water contains important probiotics for our skin.

The use of probiotics in alleviating gut problems such as indigestion and irritable bowel syndrome is well described and has many anecdotal evidence in the literature. But do you know that probiotics can also be helpful for our skin? The normal healthy skin contains a balanced bacterial microbiota.

Probiotic skincare products help to maintain a balanced state of the skin.  It makes the skin neither too oily nor too dry and tones down inflammation- the secret to a flawless glow.

This includes the staphylococcus species which is important to retain moisture and oil balance on the skin, as well as to strengthen our skin's ability to function as a protective barrier against irritants, pollutants,  UV and harmful bugs. Skin staphylococcus does this by breaking down sebum into glycerin which is a moisturizing ingredient found in many skincare products. It also produces antibacterial peptides to fight against bad bacteria which cause inflammation .

The other active ingredients found in the Suzuki Herb Probiotics Lotion are as follow:


- Lactobacillus La Flora:
This is a good bug with registered trademark under Ichimaru Faruco Ltd. It functions as a bug which produces lactic acid which increase the amount of moisture in the skin, protect the skin against sun damage and improve the skin's natural barrier function.

Lactobacillus also helps by maintaining the skin's weakly acidic pH balance which is often disrupted due to sweating and excessive sun exposure.

- Lactoferrin/yoghurt/whey protein:
These ingredients are found abundantly in human liquid gold aka breast milk as well. They contain collagen and amino acids that are essential in making the skin supple, firm and radiant.

- Chlorella/Aloe Vera/Scarlet roots:
This combination works well to soothe irritated skin,  further alleviates inflammation and prevent breakouts.


What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I love how hydrated my skin feels after using the lotion twice a day after cleansing. It works fast within minutes and I could feel the instant boost. The lotion is also suitable for use on both the face and the whole body.


Suzuki Herb Probiotic Lotion is available at Japan Premium. 

Monday, July 8, 2019

How to whiten pigmented skin | Ibiza Cream Japan Premium Review

Certain areas of our skin darken easily. Examples include elbows,  knees,  underarms, bra line and bikini lines. This is due to the deposition of excessive melanin in that area.  It makes people feel inferior and try to hide these areas because dark areas look 'dirty'. How to make us feel in our skin again,  literally?

How can we prevent these skin areas from getting darkened? Be gentle to that area by avoiding harsh shaving, tight clothing or lingerie resulting in chafe and repetitive friction. But, what if these skin areas are already pigmented? Besides painful lasers, Ibiza cream offers a painless and effective alternative to whiten the areas mentioned. There are many other ways to lighten skin colour, including skin bleaching, skin lighteners, chemical peels and microdermabrasion. The pros and cons are discussed in this WebMD article.


Ibiza cream is classified as a 'Quasi Drug' by the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan. It has been proven clinically to be able to reduce skin inflammation. Quasi drugs mean that Ibiza cream contains potent active ingredients that makes it grouped between cosmetics and medications proper. These are tranexamic acid which whitens the skin, as well as glycyrrhizate that soothes and smoothens the irritated skin.

Hailing from Japan, Ibiza cream harness the goodness of phytonutrients as well.

It contains 2 types of nano capsules which melts and penetrate into the deeper layers of the skin to suppress melanin formation.
- Whitening support capsules (hydrolozed Tong Sun, chamomile and alpinia katsumadai seed)
- Anti-glycation capsules (Sakura leaf, plum, soybean)

There are also 8 additional ingredients that make Ibiza cream moisturizing to the skin with deep penetration, namely vitamin E, stearoyl phytospingosine, rose water, sodium lactate, hydrogenated soybean phospholipid, glycerin, pentadiol and butylene glycol.

Ibiza cream is also free of potential irritants and allergens such as artificial fragrance, artificial colorant, mineral oil, parabens and alcohol. Since it's gentle and suitable for use at private delicate skin areas, it can also be used on other parts of the skin which has pigmentation problems.

How to use Ibiza cream?

1. After shower, apply Ibiza cream at the desired areas at least twice a day,
2. Apply at least 1 cm larger than the pigmented area.
3. Gently massage the cream in by drawing a circle 5 times.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

It is great that skin whitening at our delicate areas can be painless by using Ibiza cream. I love how lightweight and non-greasy the product is. Ibiza cream is effective but the effect is gradual after 2 months so one needs to be consistent and patient about it. Since it can be used for the whole body, it is a useful product to have for everyone. The tube size is convenient to carry around even if you travel frequently and each tube can last about a month depending on use.


It is now so much easier to get our hands on great Japanese products like Ibiza cream in Malaysia. This is because Japan Premium offers a comprehensive range of high quality Japanese products from cosmetics, skincare products to food delivered straight to your doorstep at a much lower price tag.






The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Eleanor Roosevelt