Showing posts with label products review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label products review. Show all posts

Thursday, July 18, 2019

The importance of resistance exercise | BH spinning dumb bells review

I have recently written about how to design an individualized exercise prescription using the FITT principle.  One of the component of a good exercise regime is to include resistance training.

Resistance exercise is also called weight or strength training. It helps to build up the strength,  endurance and the size of the muscles. This is because a resistance force that is repetitive and consistent will make the muscles work to overcome it. Besides muscles,  resistance training is also beneficial for joint function, bone density, muscle, tendon and ligament strength.


The key points for a good resistance exercise is to repeat the same sets with rest in between with progressive overload (intensify frequency,  lengthen duration,  increase reps/sets, increase weight). The type of exercise should be changed periodically because each exercise only trains specific muscles. A good recovery time of 48hours should be given afterwards to allow muscle repair and adaptation.

One of the ways to get good resistance training is using spinning dumbbells.  BH Fitness is the leading specialist in designing this piece of fitness equipment.

Spinning dumbbells are relatively small and lightweight to allow resistance exercise, even on the go. The dumbbells spin during exercise either clockwise or anticlockwise using what's called centripetal force.  This quadruple the efficiency of resistance training using conventional dumbbells.


Individual muscle groups can be trained separately using BH spinning dumbbells. The dumbbells can be swung overhead for warm up. Then,  use the rules of 3- 3minutes each rep and 3sets each rep . For arms training,  the brachioradialis, deltoid, triceps and biceps are included.

The hips can be trained by sliding the dumbbells forward and stretching the hip muscles. Besides that,  the spinning dumbbells can also strengthen core muscles and back muscles. For a complete set of resistance workup, one can refer to the BH fitness product guide link I  provide at the end of the article.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

The BH spinning dumbbells are light and easy to carry, even my three year old toddler can pick it up easily. There's a anti slip and anti sweat grip that's comfortable and does not cause sore hands or even abrasion with repetitive training. They are also durable. Bing boy had thrown it onto the floor before without injuring himself,  damaging the flooring nor breaking the dumbbells. A single set can allow training for the whole body at home without the need to head to the gym.

Those serious in getting back in shape can head on to BH Fitness website to get your very own spinning dumbbells at RM129 now. That's so much cheaper than a gym membership.



Is fabric conditioner necessary? | COMFORT Luxury Nature Fabric Conditioner Review

Doing laundry has its own art as well. Laundry detergent is meant to cleanse dirt (dust, hair, skin, food particles and germs) away. But laundry conditioner, just like hair conditioner, is important in protecting our clothes. It lubricates, strengthens the fabrics and reduces friction between the clothes. This prevents piling, fuzz, colour fading and helps to maintain the clothes in their original shapes. Certain fabric conditioners help to soften the clothes as well. Therefore a good laundry conditioner is as important as a good laundry detergent.


I have recently received COMFORT Luxury Nature Fabric Softener from the Home Tester Club. It used to come in 4 scents: Glamour Orange, Fresh Green, Elegance Purple and Romance Pink. But the latest innovation is what is called air activated perfume. As air interacts with the fabric, a luxurious lilly fragrance is released which is lasting.

How to use the fabric softener?

For hand wash:
Use after rinsing the detergent out of the clothes.
Only half a cap is needed for 10L of water
Soak clothes for 10-15minutes.
Dry clothes.

For machine wash:
Use 1 cap -- only add after the washing cycle is completed to avoid washing away the softener completely.
If there is no dispenser, add the fabric softener into water pockets and not directly onto the clothes to prevent chance of staining.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


Using fabric conditioner is just as important as how I would use hair conditioner. It makes the clothes more durable, smells better (especially doing laundry in the rainy season) and softer to wear. COMFORT Luxury Nature Fabric Conditioner is an affordable and effective solution to soften and condition our laundry.





Monday, July 15, 2019

Is probiotic skincare worth the hype? | Suzuki Herb Probiotics Lotion by Japan Premium

Here comes another popular Japanese skincare product from Japan Premium! Our skin will not be healthy without adequate moisture. Besides hydrating ourselves with fluids, we also need to protect our skin by applying moisturizer. Besides dry and flaky skin, dehydrated skin may also manifest as sensitive skin prone to itchy rash/eczema, when makeup does not adhere well and appear in blotches. It may also cause premature skin aging and make fine lines appear much earlier.


Many of us may have come across using water after being rinsed with rice as a remedy for dry skin. The Suzuki Herb Probiotics Lotion is formulated from the same principle. This is because this water contains important probiotics for our skin.

The use of probiotics in alleviating gut problems such as indigestion and irritable bowel syndrome is well described and has many anecdotal evidence in the literature. But do you know that probiotics can also be helpful for our skin? The normal healthy skin contains a balanced bacterial microbiota.

Probiotic skincare products help to maintain a balanced state of the skin.  It makes the skin neither too oily nor too dry and tones down inflammation- the secret to a flawless glow.

This includes the staphylococcus species which is important to retain moisture and oil balance on the skin, as well as to strengthen our skin's ability to function as a protective barrier against irritants, pollutants,  UV and harmful bugs. Skin staphylococcus does this by breaking down sebum into glycerin which is a moisturizing ingredient found in many skincare products. It also produces antibacterial peptides to fight against bad bacteria which cause inflammation .

The other active ingredients found in the Suzuki Herb Probiotics Lotion are as follow:


- Lactobacillus La Flora:
This is a good bug with registered trademark under Ichimaru Faruco Ltd. It functions as a bug which produces lactic acid which increase the amount of moisture in the skin, protect the skin against sun damage and improve the skin's natural barrier function.

Lactobacillus also helps by maintaining the skin's weakly acidic pH balance which is often disrupted due to sweating and excessive sun exposure.

- Lactoferrin/yoghurt/whey protein:
These ingredients are found abundantly in human liquid gold aka breast milk as well. They contain collagen and amino acids that are essential in making the skin supple, firm and radiant.

- Chlorella/Aloe Vera/Scarlet roots:
This combination works well to soothe irritated skin,  further alleviates inflammation and prevent breakouts.


What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I love how hydrated my skin feels after using the lotion twice a day after cleansing. It works fast within minutes and I could feel the instant boost. The lotion is also suitable for use on both the face and the whole body.


Suzuki Herb Probiotic Lotion is available at Japan Premium. 

Monday, July 8, 2019

How to whiten pigmented skin | Ibiza Cream Japan Premium Review

Certain areas of our skin darken easily. Examples include elbows,  knees,  underarms, bra line and bikini lines. This is due to the deposition of excessive melanin in that area.  It makes people feel inferior and try to hide these areas because dark areas look 'dirty'. How to make us feel in our skin again,  literally?

How can we prevent these skin areas from getting darkened? Be gentle to that area by avoiding harsh shaving, tight clothing or lingerie resulting in chafe and repetitive friction. But, what if these skin areas are already pigmented? Besides painful lasers, Ibiza cream offers a painless and effective alternative to whiten the areas mentioned. There are many other ways to lighten skin colour, including skin bleaching, skin lighteners, chemical peels and microdermabrasion. The pros and cons are discussed in this WebMD article.


Ibiza cream is classified as a 'Quasi Drug' by the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan. It has been proven clinically to be able to reduce skin inflammation. Quasi drugs mean that Ibiza cream contains potent active ingredients that makes it grouped between cosmetics and medications proper. These are tranexamic acid which whitens the skin, as well as glycyrrhizate that soothes and smoothens the irritated skin.

Hailing from Japan, Ibiza cream harness the goodness of phytonutrients as well.

It contains 2 types of nano capsules which melts and penetrate into the deeper layers of the skin to suppress melanin formation.
- Whitening support capsules (hydrolozed Tong Sun, chamomile and alpinia katsumadai seed)
- Anti-glycation capsules (Sakura leaf, plum, soybean)

There are also 8 additional ingredients that make Ibiza cream moisturizing to the skin with deep penetration, namely vitamin E, stearoyl phytospingosine, rose water, sodium lactate, hydrogenated soybean phospholipid, glycerin, pentadiol and butylene glycol.

Ibiza cream is also free of potential irritants and allergens such as artificial fragrance, artificial colorant, mineral oil, parabens and alcohol. Since it's gentle and suitable for use at private delicate skin areas, it can also be used on other parts of the skin which has pigmentation problems.

How to use Ibiza cream?

1. After shower, apply Ibiza cream at the desired areas at least twice a day,
2. Apply at least 1 cm larger than the pigmented area.
3. Gently massage the cream in by drawing a circle 5 times.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

It is great that skin whitening at our delicate areas can be painless by using Ibiza cream. I love how lightweight and non-greasy the product is. Ibiza cream is effective but the effect is gradual after 2 months so one needs to be consistent and patient about it. Since it can be used for the whole body, it is a useful product to have for everyone. The tube size is convenient to carry around even if you travel frequently and each tube can last about a month depending on use.


It is now so much easier to get our hands on great Japanese products like Ibiza cream in Malaysia. This is because Japan Premium offers a comprehensive range of high quality Japanese products from cosmetics, skincare products to food delivered straight to your doorstep at a much lower price tag.






Sunday, July 7, 2019

Tips of choosing and applying sunscreen | Japan Premium Nalc Sunscreen Review

Excessive sun exposure can be harmful to the skin.  Not only does it cause premature skin aging called photoaging,  it may also cause skin cancers which can spread such as melanoma. In the short term,  UV exposure can cause sunburn and skin damage.  Later on,  photoaging creates dry skin, lines,  wrinkles, skin pigmentation, freckles and sun spots. This makes sun protection and a good sunscreen in our tropical country extremely important.


The slip,  slop, slap slogan summarises  beautifully what should be done to protect against harmful UV rays. It's a successful health campaign that advises people especially Australians to slip on T shirt,  slop generously on sun screen, slide on sunglasses and slap on a hat between 11am to 3pm when the UV is at its strongest. This managed to reduce the incidence of melanoma.

Nalc sunscreen utilises the latest three phase emulsification technology to make sure that even with moisture, it doesn't reemulsify and get washed off which makes it really water proof. This technology also eliminates the need of using surfactant in the sunscreen,  rendering the UV gel suitable for sensitive skin and children use. However it get removed easily with soap and facial cleanser.

Nalc sunscreen has a SPF (sun protection factor)  of 50+ PA++++. Generally speaking,  a SPF of 30 filters 96.7% of UVB and SPF50 filters 98%. Nalc sunscreen is broad spectrum, which means it also protects against UVA (PA++++). The average-sized adult needs a teaspoon of sunscreen for head and neck, each limb and for the front and the back of the body. Sunscreen needs to be applied 20 minutes before heading outdoors and re-applied every two hours and earlier after water activities or excessive sweating.

The other active ingredients /phytonutrients in Nalc sunscreen are as follows:

-hyaluronic acid prevents skin dehydration after sun exposure

-Glycyrrhizinate dampens skin inflammation after sun exposure.

- Clara extract keeps tyrosinase activities in check to avoid skin pigmentation, wrinkles and saggy skin formation.


Not only that Nalc sunscreen is also free of harmful additives such as parabens, alcohol,  mineral oil,  artificial colorants and surfactant.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

Nalc sunscreen is a great sunscreen because it provides broad spectrum UV protection. It's light and easy to bring during traveling.  I only have to bring one for my family of 4 with 2 young children.  It's not sticky,  spreads well. There's no white residues left after application. I also love to use it before I apply foundation on my face as a base.


Can't find this product from Malaysian supermarket shelves?  Don't worry. Nalc sunscreen can be purchased online from Japan Premium now.





Acne Buster | Japan Premium Null Face Wash Review

We can't help but notice that Japanese generally have tiptop skin condition,  even for those who are aging. Most of them look so refined and elegant. So the secret must lie in the skincare products they use. That's why I love 100% authentic imported Japanese products from Japan Premium.

Null Face Wash is a must have for both men and women who are troubled by acne. Acne vulgaris can affect adolescents as well as adults.  Acne is formed due to excessive keratin production in the follicles, as well as  too much sebum clogging the pores, resulting in bacteria proliferation and inflammation. Male hormones can further aggravate breakouts.


There are many active ingredients aka phytonutrients used in Null Face Wash

Glycyrrhizate- anti-inflammatory, soothes the irritated skin and prevent acne from forming

Hamamelis, Gingko biloba & Chamomile- powerful phytonutrient which softens the skin and reduce appearance of acne scars

Artichoke,  soybean and Scutellaria Baicalensis- form the basis of the bubble foam that cleanse in depth and exfoliate gently to achieve a radiant glow.

Aloe Vera and collagen- great moisturiser and contains hyaluronic acid which maintains skin elasticity.

Lime essential oil- this gives the facial wash a refreshing smell and rejuvenates the skin

Null Face Wash is also free of paraben,mineral oil, alcohol,  artificial coloring, artificial  fragrance  and petroleum surfactant agents.  These are potential allergens or irritants to skin. 

How to use?

1. Apply 2-3cm onto a wet face washing net.
2. To create foam,  rub the net between the hands.
3. Apply the foam lightly onto the face with minimal contact to the skin.
4. Rinse off with water and avoid rubbing the skin.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I love plant based products because they are natural yet effective.  Null Face Wash is a great product that has multiple functions by cleansing,  exfoliating and moisturising,  as well as reducing inflammation and preventing acne formation. This simplifies our daily skincare regime.


Null Face Wash makes a perfect acne buster and birthday gift for your boyfriend/spouse.  Purchase it from Japan Premium now.










Tuesday, July 2, 2019

Children trusted skincare range | JOHNSON’S® CottonTouch™ Review

I grew up with Johnson's product and I am still using it. Husband and I are loyal fans of the pH 5.5 body wash. So it's not surprising that baby Bing and Yi also use Johnson's products. Johnson's has been around for so long and is widely available on supermarket shelves. But this does not mean that they have stopped progressing. In fact, we have just recently tried Johnson’S® CottonTouch™ Top-to-Toe™ Bath and Face & Body Lotion. 


Why do children, especially newborns need special skincare products? This is because their skin is 30% thinner and is much more sensitive. The caveat of less is more holds very true in this case. This means that children products should have as few ingredients, fragrance, additives and if possible no preservatives at all. 

The principle is similar to weaning your baby to solids. When something new is introduced, persist for a week and watch for possible allergic reactions. For skincare products, try it on an inconspicuous spot, on the inner arm, for example, let's say in a 20 cents size and wait for 24 hours. If there's no adverse reaction, then it's most likely safe for use. 

So what's so special about the new Johnson's Cotton Touch products? Compared with previous Johnson's products,  the Cotton Touch range uses 50% less ingredients. It's still tear free, just how we love it because Bing boy won't have it otherwise. Besides that,  it lathers and rinse easily, leaving no residues behind. 

The Johnson's Cotton Touch products are also hypoallergenic, because they don't contain parabens, phthalates, sulfates or dyes.

What about the active ingredients? 

-Cotton is what we called as a slip modifier which makes application of the wash and lotion much smoother. 

-Naturally derived Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Decyl Glucoside, Coco-Glucoside, Glyceryl Oleate are surfactants used for cleansing 

-Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate is a natural chelating agent that helps to maintain product freshness


What does Dr Yingzangel think? 

The Johnson's Cotton Touch body wash and lotion is a very much welcomed innovation for baby skincare. Knowing that it's now much simpler,  I feel much more confident to use it for my children who have eczema just like me. 


Johnson's Official Website

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

Natural and multifunctional skincare products | D'RAN wonder series review


Working for long hours with many meetings and backlogged administrative work create much stress and sleep deprivation for me in the past month. Not to mention my two cute boys who consistently wake up before 7am. These spell recipe for a skin disaster-- dull complexion, blocked pores, blemishes, dark circles, eye bags and a puffy unrefreshed face. What the others in the healthcare line will amicably call it as a post call face. The hot and humid weather speed up your aging process even faster unfortunately.

Therefore I'm genuinely excited to unbox these D'RAN Korean skincare products! All I want is good skin without much makeup on. That's why I only use and introduce you all to quality products!


D'RAN Korean skincare products do not contain mineral oil, paraben and alcohol which are common additives in skincare products. These may cause allergy or dehydrate the skin. For vegans and animal lovers, be reassured that D'RAN products are cruelty free, ie not tested using animals.
 
D'RAN Korean skincare has introduced the wonder series to tackle skin problems like mine. It aims to protect our skin from losing moisture and maintain oil balance, thus halting the skin ageing process. The 4 main functions of this series are: quenching dry skin, maintaining firm skin, brightening the skin and protecting the skin. Let me bring you through the 3 products I have been using lately.

D'RAN wonder hydrating cleanser
This foam cleanser lathers easily and cleanse the skin from impurities effectively yet is not harsh or irritant to the skin. Moreover, it helps to maintain moisture and pH balance of our skin. It's suitable for daily use twice a day.

The active ingredients are

-Argan Oil is rich in polyphenol, vitamin E and Omega 3&6. These are potent antioxidants and soothes irritated skin.

-Jojoba seed oil is similar to the structure of sebum produced by our skin in order to lock your moisture and prevent water loss from the skin.

-Macademia nut oil is well absorbed by the skin aka the vanishing oil. Containing palmitoleic acid, it restores the skin by maintaining elasticity.

D'RAN hydrating mineral mist


This facial mist can double as toner. The spraying action allows the active ingredients and moisture to penetrate into the skin. It's a great product in hot tropical weather like Malaysia because it also has a cooling effect. What's even better is that it can also be easily used on a face with full makeup on without destroying the look.

D'RAN hydrating mineral mist is made from:

-Alaska glacial milk is rich in natural minerals which also provides great hydrating effect to quench thirsty skin and keeps the skin radiant

- Hydrolyzed marine collagen is an important skin component to maintain elasticity. If you want to know more about the benefits of collagen in skincare products read my previous post.

How to use?

-For first use, keep pumping until the first spray was delivered.
-Aim the mist about arm's length.
-Spray it onto the face.
-Repeat as frequently as needed when the skin feels dry.

D'RAN wonder snail treatment cream


After cleansing and toning, it's time to moisturise and pamper you skin with this awesome treatment cream! It also functions similarly to a sleeping mask. D'RAN wonder snail treatment cream has anti wrinkle and skin whitening effect. It helps to fade scar, enhance skin barrier, restore radiance and moisture by the means of antioxidant effects.

The active ingredients include

- Snail Secretion Filtrate, although sounds yucky, is actually a great skin food containing hyaluronic acid, glycoprotein, proteoglycans, antimicrobial and copper peptides. This interesting article talks all about the use of snail in beauty.

-Silkworm Cocoon Extract is taken from silk fibre threads which contains sericin that is a great moisturiser as well as exfoliator.

How to use?

Apply and lightly pat the cream onto the skin at least every night before sleep.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

I always advocate the use of natural and plant based ingredients in my skincare regime. Therefore, D'RAN Korean skincare totally fits the bill. These are called phytonutrients and have so many beneficial effects that I have recently talked about in this post.

Furthermore, D'RAN products are multifunctional. Perfect for those with a hectic lifestyle who needs a good and simple skincare regime. I just need these 3 products to get through my day, perhaps just to add on a sunscreen as the last step before I head to work.


This is a short YouTube video of me trying out the D'RAN products. There's a reason why I don't like wearing my glasses. Look at the difference in the video! I look so much more matured and aged in my specs.

Want to give D'RAN Korean skincare a try? Head on to their Malaysian websites now.
FB
IG

Monday, June 24, 2019

Eversoft multicorrective replumping serum | Home Tester Club Review


I grew up with Eversoft avocado facial cleanser. It's a time when life was a little bit more difficult and I wasn't financially independent. Eversoft was such a household name. The cleanser was both cheap and effective. Since then, Eversoft has introduced so many other products. And today I want to introduce you all to Eversoft multicorrective replumping serum.

Eversoft multicorrective replumping serum is part of the Skinz Timeless Youth series. It harnesses the power of phytonutrients using Japanese technology. The other products in this series include cleanser, toning lotion, day defense SPF30 PA++ and night solution.

The active ingredients in this serum are

- Wakame extract which fades fine lines and make wrinkles less visible because it's enriched with plant based collagen

- Ume or Japanese apricot extract which helps to maintain skin radiance and avoids dull/sallow complexion. This is called anti-glycation. 

- Rosehip oil which reinforces the function of skin as barrier and helps to lock moisture in the skin by the virtue of vitamin A and essential fatty acids.


Eversoft products are also cruelty free- no animal testing. They are suitable for sensitive skin as they don't contain paraben, alcohol, artificial colour or fragrance, phthalates and mineral oil.

How to use?

Best effect is of course when one uses all the products in the Skinz Timeless Youth series.

Step 1- cleanse
Step 2- tone
Step 3-serum
Step 4- moisturise

Eversoft multicorrective replumping serum could be applied over the eyes and face once or twice a day during step 3. A single pump is enough for each application. 

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


I love how I don't have to get a separate serum for my eyes because Eversoft multicorrective replumping serum can be used for eyes as well. It's light weight and doesn't burden the skin too much. The natural apricot smell is also relaxing.
Interested? Eversoft multicorrective replumping serum is available in most pharmacies/supermarket.



Saturday, June 15, 2019

Comprehensive skincare | Dr Eslee product review



Dr Eslee is founded by Prof Lee from Korea. We are so lucky that it's now available in Malaysia as well. It's a skincare brand made and also used by doctors. It's in fact currently sold in more than 670 dermatology clinics. Dr Eslee's products also embrace the principles of evidence based medicine which only uses the most effective ingredients proven by relentless research.

Dr Eslee's products are made of eco-friendly phytonutrients. These ingredients are plant based and sourced from quality suppliers all around the world. Read more about the power of phytonutrients in my previous post here. Not only do phytonutrients make good supplements, but they are also great skinfood. Of course, the products are also free from potential allergens like parabens, SLS/SLES, chemical UV absorbers and artificial fragrances.

Let me bring you through the step by step way of complete skincare using Dr Eslee products. Note that the following products are useful for people who have combination skin like me. I have dry face. Yet my T zone is often oily with clogged pores causing acne and blemishes.


1. Cleanse/exfoliate
-Wash foam
-Enzyme wash doubles as face cleanser and as scrub if less water is used. Suitable to be used 2-3 times a week

2. Tone
-AC skin lotion is a convenient 3 in 1 product (toner, moisturiser & skin colour toning)


3. Anti acne
- Intensive care gel applied on the blemish


4. Moisturize
-Enriched water gel
-Hydra emulsion or drynix lotion (oil based moisturiser)seal skin moisture off

5. Sun protection
- Physical Sunscreen contains SPF50 which is more than enough to protect our skin from photoaging


6. Conceal
-Intensive blemish balm functions to reduce scar appearance and acts as foundation with UV protection

Besides this, Dr Eslee also has different range of skincare for various skin types- oily, dry, combination, aging and lastly sensitive/eczema prone skin. One can either purchase the products in their normal sizes or just in cute sachets like the ones I show in the photos. Excellent size for traveling. Each sachet is conveniently packed for single use.

What does Dr Yingzangel think?

Dr Eslee's products provide a complete solution for almost all skin problems. If you go through their website, they also include many useful advice for skincare tailored to skin types. It's not just skin deep! If you are like me, with no time for so many skincare steps, Dr Eslee also has products that are multifunctional.

Being a doctor, I fully realised how important it is to put evidence based medicine into my daily practice. And Dr Eslee is exactly following the same philosophy. This makes me trust the products even more. Made of natural plant based ingredients, I don't need to worry about possible allergic reactions.

Interested to find out more?

Dr Eslee Official website
IG
FB

As my readers, quote NJQFJH to get 20% off your first purchase! 

Getting Phytonutrients using Natural Plant Extract |Bio-Nutricia Extract Product Review


As our healthcare system improves its service, people are living longer and healthier. So non infectious diseases or what we call lifestyle diseases are becoming more and more common. The 3 highs such as high sugar (type 2 diabetes mellitus), high blood pressure and high cholesterol become the main concern. Therefore, the mainstay of the treatment being a good diet rich in vegetables and fruits. This is also what is more technically called as phytonutrients.

Phytonutrients or plant food is a more complete way to 'supplement' our diet instead of individual minerals or vitamins. This is because various research has shown the significant benefit of consuming whole food. Examples of phytonutrients include carotenoids, flavonoids, resveratrol and phytoestrogens. To understand more about phytonutrients, read this interesting article on WebMD.

However promising the research results may seem, please note that phytonutrients do not and cannot fully substitute the need for proper medication and follow up in most patients. But they can be useful and safe adjuncts. Many studies have been done but mostly not in huge numbers (less than a hundred subjects), use animal models or only deal with molecular structures.

Therefore, it can be difficult to determine how great the effect is, the dose required and whether the result can be generalised to the whole population. On the contrary, medications are tested in at least thousands of patients in terms of efficacy and safety before it's widely used.


Bionutriciae natural plant extract concentrates are produced with the most stringent standards using fresh leaves. It aims to preserve freshness yet to save the trouble of extracting the juice manually in the kitchen which often requires long hours of cooking and multiple tedious steps. This is very useful for full-time working mothers like me who want to put good quality food on the table using the least time. We are talking about dinner ready in 30-60minutes.

There are 4 main plant extracts available- Pandan, Butterfly Pea Flower, Roselle Hibiscus and Lemongrass. These products fulfill quality food production standards such as GMP, FDA and HACCP. Read about these quality assurance bodies in my previous post here.

Fresh Natural Pandan Extract Concentrate



Our Pandan Barley Soup makes a refreshing and healthy afternoon tea whether served cold or hot.

Pandan as known as vanilla of the East, is no stranger to most Asian kitchens. It's widely used in many dishes and desserts for it's attractive green colour and fragrant smell as well as flavour.



Containing many flavanoid compounds, pandan neutralizes acidic pH found in kidney diseases, has anti-oxidant properties, detoxification properties,  improves stamina and boosts energy levels. It may also prevent surging in blood sugar levels, reduces risk of depression and anxiety. 

Fresh Natural Butterfly Pea Flower Extract Concentrate


Homemade blue rice makes it more appetizing.

Butterfly Pea Flower gives an attractive blue colour from anthocyanin phytonutrient. When added with some acid such as a squeeze of lemon, the colour turns from midnight blue to violet then pink. It is a popular tea/beverage in Malaysia, Thailand , Indonesia and Philippines. Certain food such as pulut inti, nasi kerabu and nyonya dumplings uses Butterfly Pea Flower aka Bunga Telang as natural colouring. 



Not only is this visually pleasing, but it also contains water soluble anthocyanins which has antioxidant properties as well as the ability of enhancing vision,  reducing inflammation, controlling blood sugar, reducing the risk of heart attacks and preventing cancer formation. 

Fresh Natural Roselle Hibiscus Extract Concentrate


Sponge cake in progress with Roselle swirl baked by my mom.

Roselle aka Red Sorell has been traditionally used to treat urinary tract infections, cold and hangovers. It can also be made into beverage or jam. As the color remains stable with high heat, it is widely used in pastry baking as well.



Roselle is high in Vitamin C, anthocyanin which gives its brilliant red hue. It also has antioxidants and lowers starch absorption which helps in weight loss. 

Fresh Natural Lemongrass Extract Concentrate



Flavoursome home cooked curry laksa 

Beside being used in cooking curries, tomyam, soup and laksa, lemongrass can also be drank as tea. It can also be found in essential oils especially to repel insects and mosquitoes.



Lemongrass is high in citral which is the key of its flavor and smell. The phenolic and flavanoid compounds in lemongrass are strong antioxidants and anti-inflammatories. It can also lower cholesterol and sugar. 


What does Dr Yingzangel think?


I have two young children at home and it can be a real struggle to get them to take their fruits and vegetables. However, these natural plant extracts have such great flavours and interesting colour that makes preparing food and consuming them so much fun. I often get my eldest to be involved in preparing his own meal so he really appreciates the whole process and gain some skills necessary for basic survival. Not only did we drink the extracts on their own, we also add them to our food as depicted above -- my boy really thinks it's magic!

Interested?
Bionutriciae Official Website
IG
FB



Friday, June 14, 2019

Nursing Away from Home made easy | Adrini's Nursing Inner Review

Breastfeeding is a beautiful thing and one of the aspects that I totally enjoy as a mother of 2. Because it gives me a sense of being able to meet the needs of my children. Not only does it nourishes them physically but the bossom also provides a strong sense of security and helps them to build a secured attachment to me as a mother. As I weaned my eldest from the breast when he was 2years and 8months because tandem nursing can be tough, I felt a sudden emptiness and guilt that I can no longer be as closed to him anymore.


Therefore, nursing friendly clothes allow me to nurse freely in the public. As natural as it is for us adults to eat when we are hungry, young babies also need to feed whenever and whereever they are famished! It may not be feasible to find a secluded spot/ nursing room/ get into my car to feed the baby who is screaming his heads off wanting to feed. Note here, both my boys hate nursing cover so I have never used one. They will refuse to feed and make even a bigger fuss.


There are various styles of nursing clothes available in the market. Some includes a double hidden flap, some with zips. This allows us to maintain modesty without exposing too much of the tummy when lifting up the clothes for a quick feed in the public.

Adrini's is a Malaysian brand that offers many comfortable and stylish maternity and nursing clothes for mothers. I was honoured with the chance to try their nursing inner recently.

I love how bright the color of orange is this Adrini's nursing inner.
This series of inner wear comes in many colors including army green, black, orange and red. It's stylish, the material soft and comfortable. In our Malaysian tropical weather, this nursing inner is also airy and absorbs sweat easily without compromising on the thickness of the shirt so that it's not seen through easily. Not only that it also enhances our feminine figure/silhouette perfectly.

Besides that, the Adrini's nursing inner needs very minimal care. It's machine washable, dries fast under the sun. The Adrini's inner doesn't wrinkle much and no ironing is required!

What does Dr Yingzangel think?


I think the Adrini's nursing inner is an essential item in the wardrobe for nursing mothers. It's beautiful, easy to wear, modest yet stylish. And it makes breastfeeding in and away from home so effortless and elegant. Additionally, because it's long in design, it also makes me look slimmer.

Importantly, it's easy and fast to reveal the nipples for quick access while breastfeeding. No fiddling before my boy loses patient while waiting as there are no buttons or zips. The design also offers double protection to avoid maybe not so innocent passerbys from revealing our precious asset. There's overlapping material both sideways and from above, making nursing cover redundant.

The Adrini's nursing inner is also versatile. It can be worn on its own without appearing too baggy or too pyjamas-like. Pairing with a buttoned up cardigan, it's also suitable for a shopping trip or even office wear. As for the bottoms, it looks great with skirts, tights or slacks. At the price tag of RM40 each piece, it's indeed value for money.


After trying out this nursing inner, I'm so tempted to acquire a few other nursing wear designs such as Adrini's long flowing maxi dress and Ranaerissa by Adrini's (long sleeved nursing top suitable for work wear). 

Besides nursing wear, Adrini's also has its range of modern looking maternity wear and Muslimah fashion such as baju kurung modern, kebaya and matching suits with pants for a shrewd corporate look. The Raya collection is definitely worth owning as well. Browsing through their Instagram makes me feel like owning almost each clothing article. Mommies can also get great children wear like unisex hoodie and cute lacy dresses.

So, mothers, head on to Adrini's to get your own nursing clothes now. Or dear spouses, buy some as a surprise gift for her birthday/ anniversary. She will love you for it!

Adrini's official website
FB
IG
The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.
Eleanor Roosevelt